Aluminium Home Repair

• Hi guys,
    Came across an article in BikeSA that might be of interest to you. (leaking petrol tanks?
    Its about a product called DURAFIX which fixes aluminium surfaces without the need of special TIG, MIG, RIG and other types of-IG welding. The chap that wrote the article said that he has been welding for years until he came across this product and its ease if use. He goes on to say that it is very good for the likes of fixing radiatirs etc. He even gave his complete novice wife a Coke can which she welded within ten minutes.
    The procedure:
    1. Brush metal clean with "supplied" stainless steel wire brush.
    2. Heat metal to 400 degrees C (730F)with propane gas gun . (How do you know when you are up to 400?)
    3. Wait a minute or two for metal to heat. (Oooh)
    4. Touch Durafix rod to metal just outside the repair.
    5. Durafix rod will wet the surface with a layer of rod when heat is right, then spread over hole/crack to be repaired.
    6. Leave for 30 - 60 seconds until hard.
    When cool,carry out any filling or grinding necessary to finish off the surface.

I would guess that the product should be available worldwide, and it sounds pretty useful to me. Ciao.

• I was thinking of buying some to repair a hole in my K75 valve cover, currently partially filled with liquid metal .. its always seem to seep oil though.
    Just priced a new cover at $392 or $420 (schwartz), been looking for a 2nd hand one for a while.
    Problem though, I think the covers are magnesium, I grabbed this from the Australian Durafix site.. http://www.durafix.com.au/index.php?content=faq.htm

Zitat

Magnesium:
    Is the item you are trying to weld melting before the rod?